Showing Collections: 1 - 6 of 6
Collection
Identifier: SC 00726
Scope and Contents
According to the bookplate, this journal seems to have belonged to Alice W. Barker and contains poems, prayers and other writings as well as clippings of poems and writings.
Dates:
circa 1919
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2002.35
Scope and Contents
One box plus oversize diploma of Benjamin Bray, William and Mary class of 1949. He was a Common Glory actor, poet, playwright, teacher and social worker. Papers consist mostly of his poetical writings plus one play written with his brother James.
Dates:
1950-1999; Majority of material found in 1985-1995
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 1.02
Scope and Contents
The Ephemera Collection contains material primarily acquired for teaching. It includes material in various formats, most of which have been previously published. The collection is currently being processed and new items will be added on an ongoing basis. For this reason, the indicated date range is approximate at this point.
Dates:
1800-2014
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 Ew3
Scope and Contents
This collection contains materials dated 1784-1934. It includes correspondence, legal papers, and accounts, chiefly 1830-1892, of Benjamin S. Ewell, professor at the U.S. Military Academy, Hampden-Sydney College, Washington and Lee College, and the College of William and Mary (which he served as acting president, 1848-1849, and president, 1854-1888). Letters from Ewell during the Civil War when he was assistant adjutant-general to Gen. Joseph E. Johnston are included as well. Among the...
Dates:
1784-1934; Majority of material found in 1830-1892
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.308
Scope and Contents
This collection contains the family papers of members of the Grigsby and Galt Families. Mary Blair Grigsby married William W. Galt in 1881. The collection contains papers of various members of the Grigsby family, particulary Hugh Blair Grigsby who was a historian and Chancellor of The College of William and Mary and his son, Hugh Carrington Grigsby who lived his entire life at the family farm, Edgehill, in Charlotte County, Virginia. The collection also contains the personal...
Dates:
1736-1982; Majority of material found in 1840-1930
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.387
Scope and Contents
Papers, ca. 1853-1878 of Portsmouth, Virginia attorney, judge and politician C.W. Murdaugh, consisting of 3 volumes of law notes, notes on politics and history, transcribed stories, poemd and anecdotes, etc. and clippings from papers and magazines, some of which are annotated.
The volumes had at some point been numbered 8, 19 and 83 which indicates that they were once part of a larger collection.
Dates:
1853-1878
